WWE Announces First Ever Women’s Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic

WWE has confirmed that a women’s version of the Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic will take place alongside the men’s tournament.

The first-ever WWE NXT Women’s Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic tournament was announced on this week’s edition of NXT by General Manager William Regal.

No other details have been revealed at this time, but we expect some participants to announced soon.

The men’s Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic will also take place, with the first round set to kick off on next week’s episode of NXT on USA Network.

The teams announced so far are as follows:

  • The Grizzled Young Veterans (James Drake and Zack Gibson)
  • Ever-Rise (Chase Parker, Matt Martel)
  • The Undisputed Era (Adam Cole, Roderick Strong)
  • Breezango (Fandango, Tyler Breeze)
  • Legado del Fantasma (Joaquin Wilde, Raul Mendoza)
  • Imperium (Marcel Barthel, Fabian Aichner)
  • Drake Maverick and Killian DainCurt
  • Stallion and August Grey

Past tournament winners include Samoa Joe/Finn Balor, Aleister Black/Ricochet, The Authors of Pain and Undisputed Era. Last year’s tournament was won by the BROserweights (Matt Riddle and Pete Dunne). Dunne and Riddle defeated The Grizzled Young Veterans in the final and went on to win the NXT Tag Team Championships at NXT TakeOver: Portland.