WWE Announces Release of Lio Rush, EC3 and Others

wwe released lio rush ec3 curt hawkins drake maverick karl anderson

WWE has announced the release of multiple Superstars.

According to WWE.com … Drake Maverick, EC3, Curt Hawkins, Karl Anderson, Luke Gallows, Eric Young and Lio Rush have all been released from the company effective immediately. 

“WWE has come to terms on the release of Drake Maverick (James Curtin), Curt Hawkins (Brian Myers), Karl Anderson (Chad Allegra), Luke Gallows (Drew Hankinson), EC3 (Michael Hutter) Eric Young (Jeremy Fritz), and Lio Rush (Lionel Green). We wish them all the best in their future endeavors,” the company wrote.

As we previously reported, WWE announced they’d be making talent cuts this morning in an effort to save money to deal with the impact of the coronavirus on the company.

Maverick’s release comes as a bit of a surprise, as the wrestler had been announced one of the participants in the upcoming interim Cruiserweight title tournament.

EC3’s last match on WWE TV took place in September of 2019. 

Lio Rush was brought back to NXT late last year and used on television more, but recently spoke out in an interview saying he was uncomfortable wrestling during the current pandemic.

Gallows and Anderson were last part of the highly-acclaimed Boneyard match at WrestleMania.

UPDATE: More wrestlers have been confirmed as being released from the company. We’ll continue to add additional names should they come in.

  • Kurt Angle
  • Heath Slater
  • Aiden English
  • Sarah Logan
  • Referee Mike Chioda
  • Erick Rowan
  • Primo and Epico Colon
  • Mike Kanellis and Maria Kanellis 
  • Zack Ryder
  • No Way Jose 
  • Rusev

The following names from NXT have also been confirmed:

  • Deonna Purrazzo
  • NXT’s Josiah Williams 
  • MJ Jenkins